Sunday, July 26, 2009


This chapter is the continuetion from previous blog. we discuss from now on the sarams of Sri Vaishnavam-it is the essence.


The goal of life is to manifest the divinity within”


2.1 The Path
2.2 Happiness
2.3 Reasons for seeking GOD
2.4 10 requitements for Moksha
2.5 8 practices for liberation
2.6 7 paths to Moksha
2.7 4 ways to seek GOD
2.8 9 kinds of Karma Yoga
2.9 Devotion (Bhakti)
2.10 Worship
2.11 Requirements of 4 ages
2.12 Occult powers ( Sidhis )
2.13 Devotees, Alwars, Acharyas
2.14 Worship of Devas

2.1 Path

1 Let me not live in a place devoid of your presence

2 Let me not learn any lore which does not enlighten me on the truth
about You

3 Let not my family and descendents be ever bereft of devotion at your feet

4 Let me not have a life empty of your contemplation
(Alavandar )

2.2 Happiness

Happiness is of two types.

1. Wordly pleasures, in this samsara ( life )

Material benefits, including welfare of family, are of temporary nature.
It is always associated with opposites, obtained in this world.
It does not lead to benefits after death or Liberation (Moksha).
This pursuits predominates one’s first two stages of life i.e.

Brahmacharya Grihastashrama.

2. Happiness / Benefits during life after death

Supreme bliss arising out of spirituality. Arises by controlling the senses and directing them to the service of GOD.

The benefits are of two types :
•Temporary nature such as higher posts of Indran. One has to take rebirth once the accumulated good deeds (Punya) are over.

•Permanent nature in form of Liberation ( Moksha )
One tries to pursue the spiritual path in the last two stages of life i.e. Vanaprasashrama and Sanyashrama.

Eternal Bliss ( not Happiness ) should be sought right from childhood by observing Spirituality and not wait for old age.

2.3 We Seek God For 10 Reasons

1 - To Secure Happiness
2 – To Offer Surrender
3 – To Achieve Liberation.
4 To Establish Relationship with GOD and HIS devotees.
6 To Overcome Temptation.
7 – To Reach HIM
8 - To Receive HIS Grace
9 – To Remove Sins
10 – To Acquire Knowledge
11 One who gets the 10 factors listed above, gets liberated automatically

2.4 10 Requirements For Moksha

1. Silence
2. Brahmacharyam
3. Sastra Sravanam
4. Penance
5. Swadyanam
6. Swadharma Palan
7. Sastra Vyakya
8. Ekantha Seva
9. Japam
10. Samadhi

2.5 8 Simple Practices To Liberation

1. Ganga - mere mention of will remove all the sins
2. Bhagavad Gita - One word of will purify one
3. Gayatri Mantra - purifies, give strength and take Tulsi (Basil) leaves - dearer to Lord Narayana - removes all ailements
5. Namam - removes the unwanted water from the face and purifies you.
6. Saligrama Aradhana
7. Nama Japa – chant always without restrictions/reservations
8. Ekathasi Fast

Sacret Rivers of India

Ganga – Yamuna – Godavari – Saraswathi- Narmada- Sindu- Kaveri

2.6 Path to Liberation ( Moksha )

Karma Yoga Gyana Yoga ------ Bhakti Yoga ------
(Rajasic (Satvic) (Tamasic) Liberation)
perform all work for Knowledge of Atma Devotion / Love
pleasure, on HIS behalf vs Supreme 36 vidyas
(known as Satvika Tyaga )

Saranagathi (surrender) is the easiest path for the feeble & ignorant.

2.7 Liberation From Bondage 4-Ways

1 Salokyam - To reside in a Holy Place

2 Sameepyam - Do Kainkarya in a Temple

3 Saroopyam – To do Archana to the Lord

4 Sayujjyam - To merge with HIM

(Advaita recognizes only merger with the Supreme)

2.8 9 Kinds of Karma Yoga

1 Worship
2 Yagya
3 Control Senses
4 Gifts to Deserving
5 Fasting
6 Reside in holyPlaces / bathe in holy Rivers
7 Learn and Read Vedas
8 Recite Vedas.
9 To do Pranayamam

Patanjali’s Ashtangayoga ( 8 steps )

1. Yama pure conduct
2. Niyama pure body
3. Asana posture
4. Pranayama breath control
5. Pratyahara abstraction (controlling senses)
6. Dharana concentration
7. Dhyana meditation
8. Samadhai Super Consciousness

Pure Conduct : Ahimsa, Satya , Asteya, Brahmacharya, Aparigraha
non-violence, truth, honesty, celibacy, non-acceptance of gifts)

Pure Body : Saucha, Santosha, Tapas, Swadhyaya, Iswara Pranidhara
(cleaniness, happiness, penance, spiritual study, surrender)


Bhakti comprises of three dimensions. Ultimate bliss is obtained by one
who follows the following ;
• A Gyani with firm faith like Prahalad
• Has Madhura bhava (total love) like Radha
• Practices Atma Samarpana like Maha Bali

4 Types of Bhaktan devotee)

Arthan to recover lost wealth
2. Artharthi to get new wealth
3. Jigyasu to realize self
4. Gyani to realise HIM

ii) 3 Attributes of Bhakti

1. Parinama is the first step to Bhakti. It progresses in stages, as one’s wishes are fulfilled in return for prayers. It starts with motives and ends with firm faith.
•Arthan / Artharthi (Motives) are of 4 types
- desparate to save life, calls specific or any God ( Gajendran)
- separate to save honour, call a specific God (Draupadi)
- obtain material benefits, one has to regret sincerely (Kuchelar)
- obtain status/honour, one seeks security of God (Dhruv)
•Jignasu (seeker) : HE reveals HIMSELF after testing one’s faith (Udhava)
•Gyani (firm faith) : one who sees GOD in himself and everywhere,
he does not see HIM materially. (Prahalad)

2. Bhava (attitude or disposition) is of 4 types :
• Serene, Calm, Equanimous (Vasisht)
• Dasya (servant) (Anjaneya)
• Vatsalya (parental love) (Yashoda)
• Sakhya (friend) (Arjuna)
• Madhura (total love) Radha & Gopikas)

3. Anustana ( 6 forms of worship )

• - Namaskar (prostration)
• - Stuti praise)
• - Samarpan (offering of all actions & their fruits)
• - Sravan listening to His glory)
• - Chintan (recollecting HIM)
• - Seva Puja (worship in physical form)

9 Nine forms of Devotion

Sravanam (hear) Parikshith
Keertanam (sing) Sukar
Smaranam (japa) Prahlad
Pada Sevanam (be at HIS feet) Mahalakshmi
Archanam (puja) Bhrudu
Vandanam (prostrate) Akrurar
Dasyam (servant) Anjaneyar
Sakhyam (friend) Arjunan
Atma Nivedanam (Surrender) Maha Bali

This chapter will be coninued in next Blog


No comments:

Post a Comment